Home and Pondering

Pondering...by   http://chasitysherellephotography.blogspot.com/

Pondering…by http://chasitysherellephotography.blogspot.com/

Yesterday began with, “Mom, I feel tippy.” These words came from an uncharacteristically droopy 11 year old son. This young man is autistic and verbal communication is not his strong suit. I was puzzled as to what tippy meant. I knew it wasn’t good! By 9:00 most mornings this guy has gotten up, showered, neatened his room, had his time of personal Bible reading, prayed over a prayer list that convicts his mama every time she sees it and has proceeded to eat breakfast at least twice!

Not so this that morning and before long, “tippy” was defined, a barf bucket and 7-up were assigned and my tippy son was parked on the couch with a blanket. Today we stayed home from church and he has chosen to be in bed. This leaves me 1. home alone 2. missing my church family badly (when you attend a church like ODBC Missoula,http://www.odbcmissoula.com/ you never want to miss a service it is so real and so heart changing, and filled with the people you love most!) and 3. with a moment to myself!

I have been thinking of a few things while I am here by myself. I am so grateful for the fact that I am accepted. First and foremost, I am accepted in the Beloved. Though I was covered in sewer sludge and I stank, he has cleaned me up and brought me to his lap.

Once, long ago, I found a little puppy  who was covered in mange, decay and maggots. I was able to clean him up, make him well and save his life. The whole time I gagged, puked and feared I would catch something, but I got it done. Ultmately that dog did not live forever…that was not within my power to give him.

The condition I was in spiritually when I came to Christ was worse than the one the dog was in. The healer though was more able. Jesus never feared my corruption because he had overcome it once…for all. He could not be contaminated by my sin. He didn’t have to scrub and medicate (and gag and puke), as his death, burial and resurrection had already provided the ability to make me every whit clean the moment I surrendered and asked for his salvation. In addition, I will never die. My spiritual sickness is permanently healed, my soul is saved and sealed that way until the day I meet him in Heaven. Unlike the healing I could bring to the puppy, the salvation the Lord gave me is everlasting. My soul will live with him forever, starting at the moment I was saved and continuing into eternity and forever.

Wow! What a deal! God accepts me. Some of you who know me may question that. The thing is that my flesh has not been saved yet. That will happen when I meet Jesus in the air as he returns for his saints or at the moment of my death. Until then, my flesh wants to behave badly. It is like a depraved, sick and vicious 2 year old. It takes most of all the resources I have at hand to keep it somewhat in line and still, there is the matter of my thoughts. Yuck! When I compare the potential for evil that dwells in the private recesses of my mind to the holiness of Jesus I am so much more grateful for the overreaching, undergirding, all encompassing range of his redemption. He is so good.

I hope you know this Jesus and his life changing, life giving, salvation. If not, please leave a comment and I will show you where to find him!

Oh, Jesus, my savior…you truly are all I need!

God bless you!

Lawana

2 thoughts on “Home and Pondering

  1. How wonderful to see your blogpost come up on my IPhone! It was VERY real today as Josh preached on confidence in Him. A woman was saved! We missed you, Lawana!

Leave a Reply

