Multitasking

Image

I am a serious home body. Many weeks pass with me never leaving my property except to go to church and to the once per week out of the home workish obligation I have. In a perfect world, there would be no shopping in stores. Everything would just be tapped into my laptop keyboard and Dave, the UPS guy would bring it. I would get my stuff, my dogs would get a treat for being nice to Dave, Dave would have job security and we’d all be happy…unless my driveway was treacherous, then Dave might wish I’d get my lazy self out and shop. Anyway… I am a simple person who prefers to be home minding my own business. That said, I still find my life gets cluttered and tangled because I try to do too many things at once.

If there were awards for multitasking, I thing moms would win them. I have heard that men are hardwired to have one track minds and that women are hardwired for multitasking. It seems to be true in our home, but sometimes I overwhelm that circuitry by trying to juggle too many things.Take today, for instance. At one time, this morning, I was doing (or attempting to do) the following:

  1. Timed math drills for a first grader and a third grader 4 sets each
  2. Listening to Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace DVD
  3. Monitoring chores and school for 2 teenagers
  4. Eating my breakfast and taking my herbal supplements
  5. Being a taxidermy assistant
  6. Printing pages for the math drill kids to do next
  7. Planning curriculum for next year
  8. Planning dinner

I don’t know how well I have done any of these. The math drills got done and both children made good progress, I got something out of the Dave Ramsey DVD about how to get the best deal on buying appliances. Supplements and breakfast are down the hatch. Deer head is taped, masked and painted with minimal overspray, Spelling pages are printed and one child has finished her’s. I think I have decided on what to do for school for next year if only I had a Rosetta Stone coupon! Put that on the to do list. Dinner…hmmm I am still not sure. So, technically I got most of them done, but was my interaction with my children it’s best? Did I have a meek and quiet spirit? Did I take time for that lingering look and gentle touch. Was I my most patient and most kind? I know I do not do my best when I try to stack too many things into one time slot. I have a hard time finding balance.

The devotion I did with my little girl this morning exhorted her to “let God do the caring” and the example was that we are on the bus and God is the driver. The lesson was that we need to let God do the driving and worrying about where to turn. I needed that reminder not to worry, but also not to try to DO everything that needs doing. By all my DOING sometimes I mess up the BEING. I want to do well, but mostly I want to BE.I want to be the good and faithful servant to my Lord. I want to be that trustworthy mate who  brings my husband only good all the days of his life. I want to be the kind and steady advocate, counselor and teacher my children need. And I want to be the friend who shows herself friendly. Most days; however, I am so careful to see to all my doing that I lose the beautiful balance that I believe the Lord has available for me. This passage speaks to me today.

4 Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice.
5 Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.
6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.
7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.
9 Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

God bless you!

Lawana

One thought on “Multitasking

Leave a Reply

