Oh What Love!

Image

 

This week I have been really impressed and humbled by what the Lord has done in our family over the last 24 years. We have had many difficulties and hardships. Most of these, truthfully, were probably consequences of our behavior. “…whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.” (Galatians 6:7). Though we have been sincerely seeking God’s Truth from the Bible, sitting under good, strong preaching and trying to apply Biblical principles to our lives from the beginning of our marriage, we still deal here and there with continuing harvest of some wicked seeds we sowed in our youth. I personally believe the Lord has been merciful and eradicated much of that harvest…and yet the occasional consequence continues to come up in our lives.

I thank God for his principles of sowing and reaping. I thank Him for his mercy. According to His Word, when we sin we become guilty of breaking the entire law. James 2:10  For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all. Though I haven’t technically broken all of God’s law in deed, by this scriptural indictment, I am truly guilty. The wage of that guilt is death, both physical and spiritual. Oh how grateful I am for the mercy the Lord Jesus Christ has extended to me. I should be dead, yet I live. I should die spiritually (go to eternal damnation in Hell) at the end of this life, yet I have had my name written in the Lamb’s Book Of Life and will be accepted into the ranks of those who go to spend the Millenium reigning with the Lord and then to be with Him for eternity in Heaven. What a merciful God, to rewrite my bill as if my sin debt never happened! Justified by Christ’s sacrifice!

I know me pretty well. Better than my husband does, better than my children do and better than my friends do. I am totally convinced of the depravity of my carnal heart and fleshly body. God knows my heart even better than I do, He says the heart of Man is deceitfully wicked. He has the ability to see my sin with nothing hidden, yet he chooses to see only the redeeming blood of Jesus. The One who is most Holy and should reject me the most thoroughly, has chosen to allow His Only Begotten Son to make my sin as if it never happened. For my sin…my angry outbursts, my hateful thoughts, my sensual behaviors, my gluttonous belly, my lying tongue, my envious heart, my wayward feet, my lazy habits and my general desire to please myself,  our Lord Jesus Christ was forsaken  by his Loving Heavenly Father who could not look upon or commune with sin. Matthew 27:46 And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

I am loved with an everlasting love! Thank you so much Heavenly Father, for receiving me on Jesus’ behalf. Thank you Jesus for staying on that horrible cross just so I might live!

God bless you!

Lawana

2 thoughts on “Oh What Love!

    1. We have learned some of that by doing, huh? God is so patient with us. My younger kids are eating broken up multigrain chips with tweazers. I think it is silly, and cute. Wonder what God thinks of what I am doing now?

Leave a Reply

